Forty-nine student members and one honorary member were recently inducted into Mid Michigan Community College’s (MMCC) Alpha Omicron Omicron Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Chapter.

The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders. Students must earn a minimum 3.5 Grade Point Average and complete at least 12 credit hours at MMCC before being eligible to join.

An honorary member is an individual who represents the ideals on which Phi Theta Kappa is based and has rendered distinguished service to their local PTK chapter. These valued members are of high character, intellectual ability, and exhibit a level of accomplishment worthy of recognition.

“Phi Theta Kappa is a great opportunity to learn, grow, and expand as a person. I have made lifelong friends and connections that I would not have made otherwise. During my time as an officer, I have enjoyed going to conventions, doing volunteer work, and going on various chapter outings. I have a new family, a PTK family, and I wouldn't change for the world,” shared Tamara Smith, MMCC’s Chapter President.

MMCC launched a PTK chapter in 1989—one of nearly 1300 PTK chapters worldwide. Over the past 28 years, MMCC’s chapter has grown and obtained the highest level of achievement - a 5 Star Chapter. Through chapter and individual projects, members have succeeded in serving the college and community.

For more information about MMCC’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter, visit or contact Tammy Alvaro at or (989) 386-6622 extension 634.

Pictured: Front Row (L-R): Andrea Esch, Zeanna Smith, Shirley Schafer, Jordan Beemer, Jawaher Dabas, Summer Ward, Emily Holmes, Nicole Ross, Oladele Olakanmi, Alicia Aeschliman, Ella Kraft, Cliff Maczynski, MMCC President Dr. Christine M. Hammond.

Back Row (L-R): Mathew W. Miller, Vice President of Community and Student Relations, Andrew Sharp, Nathanael Thayer, Trevor Richardson, Sarah VanPolen, Gabriel Wilde, Daniel Lyons, Kayla Waple, Kenneth Doetsch, Samantha Purdy, Nathan Ringwalt, Kyle Sammons, Holly Abbott, MMCC Professor and Phi Theta Kappa Alumnus Jason Luna.

PTK inductees, November 2017
Back to the top