For the eleventh consecutive year, Mid Michigan College has awarded competitive full-ride scholarships to exceptional high school seniors. Laker Distinction (LD) Scholarships are offered to outstanding seniors from high schools across the region.

Students who receive the award have high grade point averages, leadership skills, and are committed to service. Selection for the scholarship winners occurs over the course of two months as applicants move through a selection process that includes creative response pieces, short essays, and interviews.

“We know that a lot of these high caliber students see Mid as a gateway to their future educations, so we take the selection process very seriously,” said Beth Binder, Director of Admissions at Mid. “We ensure that the process is impartial, fair, and considers the full scope of abilities that these students possess—we really get to know the applicants as much as possible, and each year are reminded that our local communities include truly remarkable young people.”

The scholarship’s base level provides for 31 credits of tuition and fees. Presidential Laker Distinction Scholarships, the highest awards, include 62 credits (the equivalent of an associate degree) of tuition and fees. The Presidential Laker Distinction Scholarship is renewable and also includes a $500/semester stipend for books and school supplies.

2022 Laker Distinction Presidential Scholarship (2 year)

Student | High School | Program of Study

Jordan McPhall | Clare | Physical Education/Physical Therapy

Sydney Heuker | McBain | Physical Therapy

2022 Laker Distinction Scholarship (1 year)

Student | High School | Program of Study

Lillian Williams | Harrison | Business

Chole Sprague | Clare | Business

Jack Connors | Mt. Pleasant | Film

Olivia Erin | Sacred Heart Academy | Health Science/Physician Assistant

To learn more about the Laker Distinction Scholarships at Mid, visit or contact Admissions at or (989) 386-6622.

Laker Distinction Scholarship Recipients

Pictured (L to R): Olivia Ervin, Chloe Sprague, Lillian Williams, President Tim Hood, Sydney Heuker, Jack Connors, Jordan McPhall

Back to the top