Behavior Intervention Team (B.I.T.)

Behavior Intervention Team (BIT)

Mid Michigan College is responsive to the health and safety of our staff, students, and faculty. The College strives to foster an environment where individuals are unencumbered to work, teach, and study in a secure and supported environment. To this purpose, Mid has established the Behavior Intervention Team (BIT). Along with establishing subsequent policies and procedures, BIT seeks to formalize existing College processes for greater communication, collaboration, and management of students, employees, and others’ behavioral concerns.

The primary objective of Mid’s BIT is to gather information about individuals of concern, assess the information, determine an effective response, implement a support plan to address the concern, monitor effectiveness of the plan, and prevent any disruptive or harmful incidents. Foremost to this purpose is the enhancement of communication that effectively detects patterns of behavior which in isolation may seem insignificant but when coupled together, depict a more serious problem. This proactive approach pursues concerning behavior sooner rather than later to reduce the risk of incidents on campus and before matters become critical.


Campus Security

Harrison Campus

1375 S. Clare Ave. Harrison, MI 48625
Office: Harrison 104
(989)339-4204
Security@midmich.edu

Mt. Pleasant Campus

2600 S. Summerton Rd. Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858
Office: Doan 103
(989)339-7323
security@midmich.edu

BIT Team Members

Kim M. Barnes

Chief Title IX Coordinator
Dean of Students and
Academic Support Services
1375 S. Clare Ave. Harrison, MI 48625
Office: Harrison 112
(989) 386-6622 ext. 236
kbarnes@midmich.edu

Lori Fassett

Title IX Coordinator
Director of Personnel Services
1375 S. Clare Ave. Harrison, MI 48625
Office: Harrison 217
(989) 386-6622 ext. 692
lfassett1@midmich.edu

Martricia M. Farrell

Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Office of Student Oversight Student Conduct and Institutional Compliance Coordinator
1375 S. Clare Ave. Harrison, MI 48625
Office: Harrison 107
(989) 386-6622 ext. 394
mfarrell@midmich.edu

Becky Knickmeier

Office of Student Oversight
Case Manager
1375 S. Clare Ave. Harrison, MI 48625
Office: Harrison 104
(989) 386-6638
rknickmeier@midmich.edu

Ryan Harkrader

Student Conduct and
Institutional Compliance Officer
Director of Athletics
2600 S. Summerton Rd. Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858
Office: Doan 104
(989) 773-6622 ext. 548
rharkrader@midmich.edu

Amy Goethe

Student Wellness Coordinator

1375 S. Clare Ave. Harrison, MI 48625
Office: Harrison 108
(989) 386-6622 ext. 256
agoethe@midmich.edu

 
Back to the top