Four of Mid’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honors Society students were recognized by PTK as some of the most honorary scholars in the State this year. Phi Theta Kappa and two-year college presidents and state associations sponsor All-State Academic Team ceremonies in 38 participating states. All-State Academic Team members receive special recognition at these ceremonies including medallions and certificates.

Rylie Alward (Gladwin), Madelyn McLavy (Harrison), Jason Armstrong (Shepherd), and Gabriel Wilde (Blanchard) traveled to Lansing to be recognized as members of the 2018 PTK All-Michigan Academic Team. The awards luncheon, hosted by the Michigan Community College Association (MCCA), showcased the best and brightest PTK scholars throughout Michigan. Mid’s President Christine Hammond, PTK Chapter Advisor Tammy Alvaro, and College Trustees Doug Jacobson, Carolyn Bay, and Terry Petrongelli joined the students at the event.

The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders. Students must earn a minimum 3.5 Grade Point Average and complete at least 12 credit hours at Mid before being eligible to join.

Mid launched a PTK chapter in 1989—one of nearly 1300 PTK chapters worldwide. Over the past 28 years, Mid’s chapter has grown and obtained the highest level of achievement - a 5 Star Chapter.Through chapter and individual projects, members have succeeded in serving the college and community.

For more information about Mid’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter, visit or contact Tammy Alvaro at or 989-386-6622 x634.

PTK Students Recognized

Pictured: Front Row (L-R): Jason Armstrong, Rylie Alward, Tammy Alvaro, Madelyn McLavy, Gabriel Wilde. Back Row (L-R): Doug Jacobson, Carolyn Bay, Christine Hammond, Terry Petrongelli.

Back to the top