Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) will recognize 35 college presidents with Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction during PTK Catalyst 2018, the Society’s annual convention, in Kansas City, Missouri, April 19-21.

These awards honor college presidents who have demonstrated outstanding effort toward promoting the goals of PTK. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, longtime chair of the PTK Board of Directors and president emeritus of Highline College in Washington. The 2018 nationwide recipients include MMCC’s President, Dr. Christine Hammond.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations. Learn more at

“Phi Theta Kappa is a great opportunity to learn, grow, and expand as a person. I have made lifelong friends and connections that I would not have made otherwise. During my time as an officer, I have enjoyed going to conventions, doing volunteer work, and going on various chapter outings. I have a new family, a PTK family, and I wouldn't change that for the world,” shared Tamara Smith, Mid’s Chapter President.

Mid launched a PTK chapter in 1989—one of nearly 1300 PTK chapters worldwide. Over the past 28 years, MMCC’s chapter has grown and obtained the highest level of achievement - a 5 Star Chapter.Through chapter and individual projects, members have succeeded in serving the college and community.

For more information about Mid’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter, visit or contact Tammy Alvaro at or (989) 386-6622 extension 634.

Back to the top