Area eighth graders received Junior High Honors Achievement Scholarships from Mid Michigan Community College (MMCC) earlier in May. The awards were distributed at a luncheon held on MMCC’s Harrison Campus.

The college awarded 32 scholarships to students throughout Clare and Gladwin counties and beyond.

Many parents and school counselors also attended the luncheon to support the students.

Scholarship recipients were nominated by their school counselors. Each has a history of academic achievement, character, and leadership. The $250 scholarships can be used on tuition or books for academic classes at MMCC.

Houghton Lake Middle School Recipients: Jake Hamp, Madison Roll, Rachel Sajdak, and Macy Bisballe

Farwell Middle School Recipients: Sara Adkins, Xavier McNinch, Madelynne Thrush, and Tyler Phelps

Harrison Middle School Recipients: Lucas Gillespie, Taelor McVicar, Molly Minor, and Peyton Mogg

Gladwin Middle School Recipients: Chloe Bruner, Emma Schwan, Robert Dinkensm, and Jasmine Strayer

Evart Middle School Recipients: Darren Gostlin, Nate Sochocki, Sara Keilman, and Keagan Parish

Clare Middle School Recipients: Danny Huang, Annika Lowe, Katherine Haupt, and Riley Schroeder

Coleman Middle School Recipients: Lexi Aultman, Alayna Houghten, Kenzie McCoy, and Haley Nichols

Beaverton Middle School Recipients: Carrington Deshone, Logan Mathews, Liam Patch, and Hunter Williams

“We love recognizing the achievements of these spectacular 8th graders,” said Chris Pellerito, MMCC Admissions Representative. “It reminds us that there are extraordinary talents in our local communities, and it reassures us that the future will be in capable hands.”

Back to the top