Program History


The Mid Michigan College Radiography Program began in 1975. It replaced a hospital based program run by Central Michigan Community Hospital. As the CMCH program was closing, area Radiology Departments requested the college consider starting a Radiography program. Initially, clinical sites were located primarily in the Central Michigan area. There was also a clinical site in Pontiac for a few years.

In the mid 1980’s , Program Director Chal Bauer investigated ways to enlarge the program to make it more financially viable. He initiated an articulation agreement with Montcalm Community College that would allow 2 students from the MCC service to take the prerequisites at MCC and transfer to Mid. Over the next 15 or so years, this arrangement was expanded to include Alpena Community College, West Shore Community College, Kirtland Community College, and Lake Superior State University students. Arrangements were made to allow students to have clinical education at hospitals in their home area. The number of students transferring to Mid to study Radiography allowed the size of the program to be approximately double what it was prior to the articulation arrangements. As an incentive to participate in the program, and to defray travel and lodging expenses, articulation students were charged in-district tuition rates. This feature was discontinued in 2009.

Since the early 1990’s, the program has utilized a waiting list. Students completing the prerequisite courses have generally had to wait one or two years on the waiting list before space was available for them to begin program classes. In 2010, the program began a transition to a selective admissions process that would mean the most qualified students would be able to enter the program without having to wait one or more years on the waiting list.

The program was first accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology within a few years of coming into existence, and has been accredited ever since. It is currently accredited for eight years, which is the maximum accreditation award.

Back to the top